Have a Stress?

Some call it Engrish, others call it Konglish. Whichever label you prefer, seeing signs with botched syntax, questionable translations, and unfortunate misspellings are hilarious. I’ve seen a lot of them lately, so I was excited when I found this collection of great signage mistakes from around the world. Since I’ve started grading homework, I’ve gotten a lot of solid gems from my students too:

Last night I had a stress because I can not sleep. The neighbors make a loud noise. For instance: a baby crying and a dog bow-wowing.

Sometimes when I have a stress I get a headaches. To relieve this I eat drugs. Then no more is my stress.

Now, I’m not trying to make fun of anyone here – I certainly would make a fool out of myself if I attempted to speak any Korean – but seeing these mistakes definitely highlights the challenge and difficulty of reprogramming your brain to speak a new language. Times like these I’m just glad I’m the teacher, not the student.

A shop in Seosan. I don’t know what they sell and I’m not interested in finding out.

4 responses to “Have a Stress?

  1. Stuff like this is one of those things I love about traveling.

  2. The “deformed man toilet” sign was hilarious!! Thanks for the post, as a translator and interpreter I always enjoy this kind of things 🙂

  3. I don’t know if you got my e-mail about the toilets of the world, but this sign would be a great addition as “toilets of Korea”!

  4. Oh, I love the Deformed Man Toilets!

Leave a Reply

