Scrubs

Today I paid a visit to the local clinic to get the physical screen required for my health care and alien registration card. I wasn’t looking forward to it. As a foreigner with little more than a passport, I went in expecting long lines, lots of paper work, and a hefty price tag. Thankfully none of these fears came true. Instead, the wait lasted just 5 or 6 minutes. The paperwork was pretty much none-existent – not even a signature needed – and the service was a model of efficiency. I received an eye exam, a blood test, weight and height screening, and lung x-ray in just under a half hour. My boss tells me that private clinics are even faster. The total bill? A little over 60 bucks. Sure the facilities looked like they were plucked straight out of the 1970’s, and maybe I saw a few too many old men with eye patches than my comfort level normally allows (8), but it’s hard to argue with such quick and effective service. So to all those American hospitals with their blow hardy HMOs and confusing insurance plans and co-pays, I just have one thing to say: you make me sick.

One response to “Scrubs

  1. It’s true what you say. I’m British and I found Korean hospitals a lot quicker than our ones too. I badly cut my fingers in Seoul last year and needed stitches. I resisted going to the hospital because I thought it would be like in the UK where you have to hang around for 7 or 8 hours. Instead I was in and out in about 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

