Kids Times 3

Here are some more goodies from my favorite English-language publication ever, Kids Times. After a brief hiatus, the paper was back on my desk last week, and once again, did not disappoint. Here are a few shots:

This article resulted in the kids spending ten-minutes of class time making pig “oinking” sounds. Why? I have no idea.

This journalistic masterpiece comes from an article entitled, “Is Greenland Really Green?” The last paragraph really sums up the writing for Kids Times. I can just imagine the author 5 minutes before her deadline saying to herself, “I don’t know nor do I give a crap about how Greenland got its name. If you really care that much about it than you can do it yourself.” Well, I did care, and after about 3 solid seconds of Googling, I had the answer which came directly from the Greenland’s very own tourist information website (who knew?).

It was the Viking Erik the Red who gave Greenland its name. Having been exiled from both his native Norway and later also from Iceland, he headed west and discovered a country with an inviting fjord landscape and fertile, green valleys. Once back in Iceland he spread the word of the good opportunities for starting a new life in the new country which he called ‘The green land’ – and in the summer it really is green here.

So basically Erik The Red did a little PR campaign to get people to come to his iced-over country but instead just attracted a bunch of caribou. But that’s not the point. The point is that reading Kids Times will make you stupid.

2 responses to “Kids Times 3

  1. It doesn’t take much to distract kids from the task of learning. Welcome to my world:)

  2. I get all of my news from the Kids Times. In my opioion, it’s the only news that’s worth reading!

Leave a Reply

