The Chestnut Tree

I don’t normally get homesick, but watching  “The Chestnut Tree,” a short film by Korean artist Hyun-min Lee, really made me really want to call home and check on everyone back in Seattle. Hand-drawn and set to the music of Chopin, this delightfully sweet short kinda reminds me a book my mom liked to read to me when I was a kid, Robert Munsch’s Love You Forever. Classic line: “I’ll love you forever, I’ll love you for always, as long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.” Oh there I go again; getting all misty-eyed and such. Anyway, watch this video and then go call your mom. You know how they worry.

3 responses to “The Chestnut Tree

  1. Love You Forever *is* a beautiful book. Robert Munsch is probably the most widely read Canadian children’s book writer. “A Promise is a Promise”, “Good Families Don’t” and “Paperbag Princess” are some other awesome ones.

    Cheers …

  2. What a lovely film–a tribute to a mother’s unconditional love. The film also evoked, for me, images of “Where the Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak.

  3. oh, i saw this on cuteoverload.com, it was so sad and adorable. My sister and mom always cry when they read that book you mentioned, i don’t though, i’m too tough. when you come home you can have some of my hours if i’m not hecka fired by then for being lazy, the store needs your selling prowess!

Leave a Reply

