Money Count

Sometimes it’s discovering the minute geographical details that make living abroad so rewarding. For instance, one of the first things I noticed after moving was that the Korean smiley-face emotocon is not 🙂 but rather ^^ . It took me around 2 weeks to figure out what this meant, during which time my text messages were completely emotionless. Another one of my favorite subtleties is the money counting. Rather than passing bills from hand to hand like we do in the States, the tradtional Korean method is to fold it in half around one hand and peel back the bills with the opposite thumb. Above is a handy video I found illustrating money counting from all over the globe, and you might be surprised at the variety of methods. Personally the Middle Eastern method looks like a pain in the ass, but really, money is money, and in the end, that’s all that counts.

4 responses to “Money Count

  1. if you were an internet nerd like me you woulda recognized that ^^ in a flash. or if you were just a regular nerd who watches pokémon from time to time even at the ripe ol’ age of 21, you might have known. or if you’d ever watched interstella5555, the movie that goes with daft punk’s discovery album, you might have figured it out sooner. yep!

  2. I seem to remember Pop counting his money the same way you described.

  3. I so want to learn to count the way they do here in Korea, but I always forget to get my bills ready and start practising.

    As for the ^^, I knew what it meant, but never really understood why until I worked in Qatar with Asian from all over. When I arrived in Korea it was even more obvious, since almost everyone looks like that when they laugh…

  4. “that’s all that counts”.

    *snicker*. Good one.

Leave a Reply

