Wracked with Gelt

picture-3

The Hanukkah season is just around the corner, and if your living abroad like me, you probably forgot to pack your dreidels. But fear not – the Internet has you covered. I found this great virtual dreidel simulator courtesy of the Jewish Outreach Institute. For those of you who have never played, the game is pretty simple. Make a small wager, spin the four sided dreidel, and wait to see your fate. Gimel: take it all. Hey: take half: Nun: take none. Shin: Put some in. The site has instructions too. Though not as good as the real thing, this makes a pretty good alternative, which is ok considering the closest place to buy an actual dreidel is probably in Russia somewhere. Click here to take it for a spin.

4 responses to “Wracked with Gelt

  1. You’re in luck–Hanukkah doesn’t begin until the 21st!

  2. you’re right, i looked up the dates for 2009 hanukkah. I am an idiot.

  3. Not an idiot–just eager:)

  4. I had my mom ship me my menorah. My (Korean) wife’s eager to jump into the pulse pounding Hannukah holiday. I wonder how easy it’ll be to get her to recite an intelligible version of Baruch ata Adonai, Elohenu melech ha-olam, Asher kideshanu be-mitzvosav, ve-tzivanu, le-hadlikner shel Hanukkah. And what will she think of the gefilte fish?

Leave a Reply

