Fan Death

dsc02744

Killer?

The topic of Fan Death first came up back in the summer months when my boss asked me how I was getting along in the heat of the season. I told her I was managing quite well thanks to a large rotary fan I bought for 30 bucks. I also mentioned that I kept it on all night and that I didn’t need to use my air conditioning because the fan did the trick. As soon as I mentioned this last part, she shot me a look of sheer horror – as if I had just told her I enjoyed playing Russian Roulette with friends on the weekends. I didn’t know why my remark elicited such a reaction, but then she calmly told me about Fan Death, an occurrence that she said happens when a fan is left on all night, thereby giving it enough time to chop up all the air particles in a room and causing death by suffocation. I was blown away when she told me this (haha, see what I did there? Fans…Air…blown away…No? Ok nevermind), but then I stopped and thought about for a second and realized that her theory was complete crap. I could only sit there, slowly moving my head to the left, and then slowly, ever slowly, back again to the right, in a sign of disagreement. Despite my protests such a demise was impossible, she would not waver in her stance.

Well now, thanks to the Answer Fella at Esquire Magazine, the whole Fan Death debate can be put to rest. As I suspected, the phenomenon is nothing more than a bunch of hot air.

So far as AF is able to determine, no scientific literature exists to support the existence of fan death, nor does it seem to be a perceived threat in any other country but Korea. File it — like the faith of the French in the healing power of Rochebaron cheese smeared on the testicles — under “Urban Myths, Foreign Dolts.”

Read the whole explanation here: Link via Esquire

Related Viewing: “Fans” – Kings of Leon

**In a completely unrelated note, I’m heading to Tokyo tomorrow for the Lunar New Year holiday, aka Sollal. Be back Thursday.

Leave a Reply

