The Shortest of Stories

picture-2

Everyone has a story, but not everyone who’s listening wants to sit through all the boring details. That’s where OneSentence.org comes in, a literary site that succeeds on the notion that less is definitely more.Write your best one sentence story, submit, and enjoy a few minutes of brevity. Here are a few of my favorites:

“When I opened the door I noticed 2 things: one, someone had made cookies, and two, all the furniture was missing, in that order.”

“In spite of the damage to my car and my body, I couldn’t help but laugh at becoming the second person in my family to hit a Burger King.”

“My cat challenged me to a game of “Guess Where I Pooped Before You Step In It” and I lost.”

“I thought it was pretty cool when my dad told me he had joined a band, until he informed me that he would be playing the spoons and the triangle.”

And now here’s mine:

“So long story short, nobody told me that the toilet wasn’t working.”

If you’ve got a one sentence story, share it here, then go and post it on Onesentence.org

4 responses to “The Shortest of Stories

  1. i love it, good job

  2. Those others were clever, but yours made me chuckle out loud at my desk -nicely done.

  3. They are almost like Haiku–not many words, but they say so much.

  4. I never met a challenge I failed to meet until I walked out the door.

Leave a Reply

