One Year Anniversary and New Adventures

So I’m a little late getting to this, but last Wednesday was my official one year anniversary here in Seosan, South Korea! My how time flies. There were certain points early on where I wasn’t sure if I’d make it through the whole year, but now, 365 and some odd days later, I know I made the right decision. Life out here is basically a paid vacation, and in fact, if it weren’t for friends and family back home, I probably would stay a lot longer. Which is why, I am, sort of.

I have extended my contract by six weeks, which pushes my departure date from Korea  back to May 3rd. Before I head back to the friendly confines of the Emerald City, however, I meeting up with two good friends I’ve made in Seosan to embark on an adventure of epic proportions.

The plan is as follows. Just before my contract in Korea expires, I will send pretty much all my belonging back home via cargo ship, and then head off to meet my friend John in Bristol, England. The only things I will take with me will be a bike and two 20 kilogram pannier bags filled with a change of clothes, camping gear, and my camera. After hanging out in Bristol for four days, John and I will catch a plane to Porto, Portugal where we’ll meet up with out friend Chett, a fellow teacher and all-around awesome dude.

In fact, this whole idea is his to begin with. After biking across Canada, Vietnam, and New Zealand, as well as walking from Mumbai to Goa, India, Chett decided that he’d like to cycle across Europe. His goal is to one day cycle around the world in little chunks, finishing up in Beijing. Why do such a thing? Because it’s there, and he can.  When he invited John and I to join along, we didn’t hesitate in answering yes. If Chett doesn’t continue teaching he should probably go into sales, because from the moment he pitched me his idea, I was hooked.

After we leave Porto, we’ll head Northeast and cross through to northern Spain, continue on through southern France, and then end up in Northern Italy. We’ll follow along various sections of the Eurovelo, a network of cycle-friendly roads which criss-cross Europe. It will be six weeks of cycling, camping, and just generally prolonging returning to the real world as long as possible. I should arrive home just in time for my sister’s wedding on June 21st.

So that’s the update for now. I’ve got a little less than six weeks to go here in Korea, and right now, I plan on enjoying every last minute of it.

Here’s a very rough view of what the route will look like:

picture-2

P.S. If anyone knows a good bike shop in Seoul, please let me know.

Related Viewing: “Sheep Go To Heaven” – Cake, from the album Prolonging the Magic

2 responses to “One Year Anniversary and New Adventures

  1. italy!! i’m terribly jealous. bring back some truffles or something…

  2. I’m routing for you. That is going to be the adventure of a lifetime.

    You gotta document it as much as you can!

Leave a Reply

