Home Sweet Home

15 months, 9 countries, and approximately 2,000 miles on a bicycle later, I am happy to report that I am finally back home after one of the most epic adventures one man could ever hope to take. My trip took me from the rice fields of Korea, through the sweltering heat of Vietnam, to the neon-lit city streets of Tokyo and Beijing, along the glistening French Riviera, all the way to the Duomo in Milan, Italy, and a whole host of other remarkable places along the way.

Now that chapter has ended, and while I am no longer physically traveling, I will keep the experiences and lessons learned close with me. And while life abroad was thrilling and exhilarating and I enjoyed every minute of it, it truly is great to back home in the USA. More specifically, it’s great to be back in Seattle, Washington, a place where the sky is big, the air is fresh, the trees are green, the food is familiar, and the people, though rain-soaked and pale, are friendly. These past few days I feel like I’m seeing everything again for the first time, through brand new, more appreciative eyes. And the best part? Being back home with friends and family. It’s true what they say, you really don’t know what you’ve got ’till it’s gone.

Speaking of being gone, I realize that for a little over a month this blog has remained relatively quiet, and for that I apologize. I was fully intending on chronicling my bike journey from Porto, Portugal to Milan, Italy on this space, but unfortunately a lack of computers and Internet access prevented me from doing so. Perhaps I was spoiled by living in Korea, a place where you can’t walk five feet without running into an Internet cafe, but trying to find the web in sleepy little European towns was like trying to find water on Mars. It’s possible, but it ain’t easy. Now that I’m back, however, I fully intend on sharing my experiences with the dedicated readers of my humble blog. That’s right, all three of you. For the next week or so I will be posting pictures, stories, and maybe even a little video of the road trip of a lifetime. I hope to get back into the swing of writing here more regularly, and hopefully, you all will come along for the ride.

Related Viewing: “This Land Is Your Land” – Bruce Sprinsteen Cover

One response to “Home Sweet Home

  1. i’m pretty sure it’s awesome you’re back. cool too that you’re still gonna update this guy, cuz i’ve been reading it since the beginnin’!

Leave a Reply

